Home     News   2013 YPA Finals. Winner announced!

2013 YPA Finals. Winner announced!

On Saturday 12 October, Hoang Pham was announced the 2013 ABC Symphony Australia Young Performer of the year after a spectacular performance of the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1.

The last stage of the finals which for the first time ran in the new format was held at the Melbourne Town Hall, with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra conducted by Christopher Seaman and included thrilling performances from two other finalists, Andrew Kawai (VIC) performing the Strauss Oboe Concerto and Stefan Cassomenos (VIC) performing the Prokofiev Piano Concerto No.3.

The three young performers had battled their way through two previous rounds of competition to have the chance to play their concertos in this concert which was broadcast live on ABC Classic FM and wonderfully presented by Graham Abbott and Mairi Nicolson.

The winner was announced by Symphony Services International Chief Executive Officer, Kate Lidbetter in a prize ceremony following the concert. The 12 performers who took part in the finals were all presented with a trophy in recognition of their achievement and the following prizes were awarded;

Best Recital ($5000) went to Andrew Kawai (VIC)

Best Chamber Music Performance ($5000) went to Hoang Pham (VIC) for his performance of the Mendelssohn Piano Trio No.1

Best Performance of an Australian Work ($5000) went to Grace Clifford for her performance of Soliloquy: a fragment from String Quartet No.2 by Wilfred Lehmann in the Recital round.

Andrew Kawai and Stefan Cassomenos both received a cash prize of $7500 and Hoang Pham takes home a $25,000 cash prize, multiple copies of a CD of his winning performance and opportunities for future concert engagements with major Australian symphony orchestras as well as a feature interview in the ABC Limelight magazine.

All seven YPA finals concerts were recorded and broadcast live by ABC Classic FM, and an hour-long special about the finals will feature on ABC TV on Sunday 15 December, at 2.00pm on ABC 1.