Home     News   2015 YPA Finals – Winner announced!

2015 YPA Finals – Winner announced!

Lloyd-Van't-Hoff-250On Saturday 7 November, Lloyd Van’t Hoff was announced the 2015 ABC Symphony Australia Young Performer of the year after a spectacular performance of the Copland Clarinet Concerto

The last stage of the finals was held at the Federation Concert Hall, with the Tasmanian  Symphony Orchestra conducted by Johannes Fritzsch and included thrilling performances from two other finalists, Chris Cartlidge (VIC) performing  the Rubbra Viola Concerto and Lily Higson-Spence (QLD) performing the Sibelius Violin Concerto.

The three young performers had battled their way through two previous rounds of competition to have the chance to play their concertos in this concert which was broadcast live on ABC Classic FM and wonderfully presented by Christopher Lawrence.

The winner was announced by Symphony Australia Chief Executive Officer, Kate Lidbetter in a prize ceremony following the concert.

Chris and Lily both receive a cash prize of $10,000 and Lloyd takes home a $25,000 cash prize, multiple copies of a CD of his winning performances, a feature interview in Limelight magazine and two concert engagements with one of the Symphony Australia network orchestras.

The Nelly Apt Scholarship for 2015 was awarded to Lily Higson-Spence. Lily receives a travel scholarship of up to $5,000, return transfers from Tel Aviv and a further half scholarship to attend the International Summer Mastercourse at the Keshet Eilon Music Centre in Israel.

The Triffitt prize ($6,000) made possible through a generous bequest from Dr Gregory Byron Triffitt was awarded to Lloyd Van’t Hoff. The following prizes were also awarded in the earlier stages of the Finals;

Best Recital ($6,000) went to Lily Higson-Spence

Best Chamber Music Performance ($6,000) went to Chris Cartlidge for his performance of the Bruch Eight Pieces for clarinet, viola and piano Op.83

Best Performance of an Australian work ($6,000) went to Chris Cartlidge for his performance of With Zeal by Ian Whitney

The winner of the People’s Choice Prize was announced on ABC Classic FM on Monday 9 November and went to Lily Higson-Spence