Artist Development

Home   Artist Development   ABC Symphony Australia Young Performers Awards

ABC Symphony Australia Young Performers Awards

YPA 2014


The preliminary auditions for the competition which took place in all states across the country have just concluded. Our three national adjudicators travelled far and wide to hear each and every candidate perform selections from their recital program and were given the unenviable task of selecting only 12 performers to proceed to the next stage.  We are delighted to announce that the successful candidates who will be moving on in the competition and performing in the Finals are as follows;

Andrew Kawai (Oboe – VIC)

Anna Da Silva Chen (Violin – NSW)

Anne-Marie Johnson (Violin – VIC)

Catherine Gregory (Flute – QLD)

David Soo (Piano – VIC)

Glenn Christensen (Violin – QLD)

Grace Clifford (Violin – NSW)

James Jae-Won Moon (Piano – NSW)

Kiran Phatak (Flute – WA)

Michael Li (Piano – VIC)

Sujin Park (Violin – NSW)

Zoe Freisberg (Violin – QLD)

The Finals will take place in Adelaide, in three stages over 10 days from August 19 – 28. The first stage of the Finals is the Recital Round in which all 12 finalists will compete. There will be four concerts that will take place at 1pm and 7pm in Studio 520 at the ABC Centre in Collinswood on August 19 & 20. Three performers will play their full recital program as nominated for the Preliminary auditions in each concert. Exact details regarding the programming of the concerts are still to be decided.

After the Recital Round, six finalists will be selected to proceed to the next stage of the finals – the Chamber Music Round. In the Chamber Music Round, the six finalists will collaborate with musicians from the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra to prepare and perform a chamber music work. These works will be performed in two concerts at 1pm and 7pm on Friday August 22 in Studio 520 at the ABC Centre in Collinswood. Three performers will play their chamber music work in each concert.

After the Chamber Music Round, three finalists will be selected to proceed to the next and last stage of the finals – the Concerto Round. The three finalists selected will perform their nominated concerto with the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra conducted by Christopher Seaman in the Adelaide Town Hall on Thursday August 28. The winner on the night of the Concerto Round will be named the 2014 ABC Symphony Australia Young Performers Awards and will perform their concerto with the ASO twice more in two masters series concerts on August 29 & 30.

All concerts in each stage of the finals will be open to the public and broadcast live on ABC Classic FM.

Congratulations to our 12 finalists and to all performers who participated in the preliminary auditions.



Tuesday 19 August: Recital concerts 1 & 2

Wednesday 20 August: Recital concerts 2 & 3

Friday 22 August: Chamber Music concerts

Thursday 28 August: Concerto Concert



All 12 finalists will be eligible to win prizes, which will no longer be awarded according to instrumental categories. The following prizes will be awarded at the end of the competition:

Young Performer of the Year: $25,000

Concerto Finalist Prize x2 (runners-up): $7,500

Best Recital: $5,000

Best Chamber Music Performance: $5,000

People’s Choice: $5,000

Best Performance of an Australian Work: $5,000

The Young Performer of the Year will be presented with the ABC Sir Charles Moses Trophy, multiple copies of a CD recording of their recital/concerto program, one paid performance with the host orchestra, as well as a feature interview in Limelight magazine.


 2013 YPA finalists